Baldwin Public Library

Baldwin Public Library - Logo

Hours (as of 3/1/2018)

  • Mon & Wed & Fri: 9am - 6pm
  • Tues & Thurs:  9am - 7pm
  • Saturday: 9am - 1pm
  • Sunday: closed

Book Clubs

Everyone is welcome!   No book purchase is necessary to participate.    Books to be read are chosen by the group members, with recommendations by the librarians.    For more info:     Rebecca 684-3813.

************************************

  Magnus Chase Book Club       (for grades 5 +)         Meets 5:30 - 6:30 on dates below,   themed snacks and activities provided too!

Talk about this awesome series by Rick Riordan. Magnus is a homeless boy who finds out he is the son of a Norse god, and the Viking myths are true!  Now he must  choose to accept his duty and prevent doomsday, Ragnarok.

 Thurs.   Jan. 18:     The Sword of Summer
 Thus.    Feb. 22:     The Hammer of Thor
 Thurs.  Mar. 29:    
The Ship of the Dead
Meets  just once a month so you can fit reading the book into your busy schedule. Come to all or just one.  We can help you order a free copy of the book from the MORE system.

***************************

    Afternoon Book Club:  (ages 18 and over) -  Meets second Thursday and last Tuesday of each month at 1:00pm, come to one or both (we are trying meeting twice a month now in 2018).

Books chosen are slightly older popular titles so that we can order multiple copies from the MORE system and no book purchase is necessary to participate.

THURSDAY, Feb. 8th, 1:00 -  Chilbury Ladies' Choir by Jennifer Ryan

For readers of Lilac Girls and The NightingaleThe Chilbury Ladies' Choir unfolds the struggles, affairs, deceptions, and triumphs of a village choir during World War II.

As England becomes enmeshed in the early days of World War II and the men are away fighting, the women of Chilbury village forge an uncommon bond. They defy the Vicar’s stuffy edict to close the choir and instead “carry on singing,” resurrecting themselves as the Chilbury Ladies’ Choir. We come to know the home-front struggles of five unforgettable choir members: a timid widow devastated when her only son goes to fight; the older daughter of a local scion drawn to a mysterious artist; her younger sister pining over an impossible crush; a Jewish refugee from Czechoslovakia hiding a family secret; and a conniving midwife plotting to outrun her seedy past. 
 
An enchanting ensemble story told through letters and journals it shuttles from village intrigue to romance to the heartbreaking matters of life and death.  Jennifer Ryan’s debut novel thrillingly illuminates the true strength of the women on the home front in a village of indomitable spirit.      “A delightful debut.”—People 

    *********************************************************

 Book Discussion - Evening Group  (Meets at various restaurants or can meet in the library.   Let us know if you plan to attend and we'll give you the location.)     

 Tuesday, Feb. 27, 6:30 pm :   The Sleepwalker,  by Christopher Bohjalian 

When Annalee Ahlberg goes missing, her children fear the worst. Annalee is a sleepwalker whose affliction manifests in ways both bizarre and devastating. Once, she merely destroyed the hydrangeas in front of her Vermont home. More terrifying was the night her older daughter, Lianna, pulled her back from the precipice of the Gale River Bridge. The morning of Annalee's disappearance, a search party combs the nearby woods. Annalee's husband, Warren, flies home from a business trip. Lianna is questioned by a young, hazel-eyed detective. And her little sister, Paige, takes to swimming the Gale to look for clues. When the police discover a small swatch of fabric, a nightshirt, ripped and hanging from a tree branch, it seems certain Annalee is dead, but Gavin Rikert, the hazel-eyed detective, continues to call, continues to stop by the Ahlbergs' Victorian home. As Lianna peels back the layers of mystery surrounding Annalee's disappearance, she finds herself drawn to Gavin.

       If interested, e-mail Joni at:   jwernlund@bwsd.k12.wi.us       Please order your copy of the book from the MORE system or ask the library staff for help.

******************************************

Middle School/Teen Book Club (for those going into 5th - 9th grades)    

 During the school year the group meets less often as participants are busy with schoolwork, but meets occasionally as the group chooses.   Meetings in the past were on the last Tuesday of each month at 3:45 for about 45 minutes, but day and time are up for negotiation.  Or occasional meetings can happen just once or twice a year for busy students.   B-W Bus #18 (used to be #9) stops right at the library at 3:35 (remember a note that morning if you are changing buses).  A snack is provided if groups meets during the schoolyear.    Call the library if interested  (715-684-3813) and we will get you a free copy of the next book (ask for Amanda or Rebecca).    No buying of a book is necessary.  Come have fun and meet other people who like to read too!